Last week in the Philippines

Shakespeare couldn’t have said it better, “Parting is such sweet sorrow.” I don’t know if it is me or everybody’s just leaving everybody else.

First, it was Gerard, who left for Japan without much ado, sad to say. Next, the AC people, who one by one, are being sent to the States for further training and work. Last thing I know, Fritz was also off to the States. Now, it’s our turn. We’re off to Japan come June 19. If this isn’t brain drain in action, I don’t know what is.

This week is a week of preparation and good-byes. I had to gather all my things and put them in my bags and make sure my luggage weighs less than 20 kilos (though I don’t exactly know how to do that). That was the simple part. Now, for the hard part…

I had to say goodbye to everybody I know. I’m not really very good at this but I try to. If I were filthy rich, I would have thrown a big party and invited everybody I know. Unfortunately, I’m not filthy. Neither am I rich. Being the technophile that I am, I had to settle with farewell texts and farewell emails.

Come to think of it, I’m not leaving for good so I decided I shouldn’t make so much fuss about it. Besides, wala na kong pera. I’ll be back 15 June 2001 and one year isn’t very long.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

