Getting the Feel of Nagano-ken

This week marks our first complete week here in the Murai Office and so far, I have learned to adapt to my life here and I think I will survive. I think. Hehe. It was difficult at first but thank goodness, I have learned to “do what the Romans do.”

To start the week, we attended a Catholic mass in Okaya, Nagano-ken for the first time. As expected, we saw lots and lots of Filipinos of all sizes and shapes. Well, that was an exaggeration but really, there were many Filipinos in the Church. It is really wonderful to see other Filipinos in a different country like Japan because bonding becomes almost instantaneous. I was even chosen as one of the readers for the mass.

After Sunday comes Monday and for most of us, Monday means work day. So, let me share with you things that I do during work days.

Everyday, this is what I do… From 6:00AM to 6:30AM, I wake up and fix my beddings, among other things. From 6:30AM to 7:00AM, I bathe in the shower room. From 7:00AM to 7:30AM, I eat my breakfast. From 7:30AM to 8:05AM, I travel to the office. From 8:05AM to 8:45AM, I check my mail and finalize my assignments. From 8:45AM to 11:45AM, I listen to lectures in C. From 11:45AM to 12:45PM, I eat my lunch and then, check my mail. From 12:45PM to 6:00PM, we do our assignments, study Nihon-go or better yet, check our mail and browse the net. From 6:00PM to 7:00PM, we travel back to our respective accommodations. From 7:00PM to 7:30PM, I eat dinner. From 7:30PM to 11:00PM, I finish my assignments, review my lessons, or better yet, watch TV. At exactly 11:00PM, I go to sleep getting ready to wake up to yet another day with the same schedule as above.

If this is not routinary, I don’t know what is. Good thing is, we have different assignments and different lessons. So, our days are not so routinary after all (as if that makes a difference).

Having stayed here for more than one week now, I have come to realize that things here aren’t so bad after all. Shoen Seiwa-so (our dormitory) isn’t that bad. Besides, the Japanese employees of Epson have stayed here longer than I have without any qualms whatsoever (at least none that I know of). Before, I used to say, “but they’re Japanese, I’m Filipino… brought up in a Western-style society in an Asian country.” Now, I believe that’s beyond the point. I chose to be trained in Japan, so I have to really experience Japan and what better way to do that than to live in a Japanese-style accommodation.

Moving on, I would like to talk about our technical training. So far, our technical training at the Murai office doesn’t really pose much of a problem because it is just like reinforcing what I already know about C. The real challenge comes two weeks from now, when we move to C++ and later on, Java, where my knowledge isn’t exactly enough to meet the requirement of this company.

Next week, we’ll be having a three-day break known to the Japanese as Summer Vacation (what happened to the two-month vacation I’m more familiar with). Read about the places we’ll be visiting… all in next week’s journal.

Leave a Reply

