I Saw the Sun

One morning, for some reason or another, I woke up at 5:00 AM. This is very unusual for me because I normally wake up at 9:00 AM. See the 4-hour time difference? Also, I couldn’t seem to go back to sleep.

I tried to lull myself back to sleep by watching Japanese TV early in the morning but apparently, it didn’t work. So, I decided to be adventurous. I put on my jacket,. took my bike and pedaled my way to Kagoshima Bay. Need I mention that I also brought with me my trusty digital camera and tripod.

So, I was on my way. My mission? To capture the sunrise at Kagoshima Bay. If I succeed, that would be my first photo coverage of an actual sunrise, ever. I’m excited already.

It was still dark when I arrived at the bay. To be honest, I was a little scared. It was almost pitch black and I believe I was the only person there. I keep on reminding myself that this is Japan. There’s nothing to be scared of. I am not really sure if there are ghosts in Japan but at that instant, I don’t want to find out.

So, I stayed there, set my camera and wait for the sunrise. It is a good thing dawn is near so I don’t have to wait that long. Later that early morning, I was surprised to see other people in the bayside. Some also have cameras with them. Maybe just like me, they’re waiting for the sunrise. While some have fishing rods out to bring home some Kagoshima fish with them. Still others are coming just to jog and probably enjoy dawn at the bay.

There I was… freezing… at the bay… taking pictures. I was literally taking pictures of everything I see… the volcano, the sky, the moon, even the small boats. The sky is slowly turning blue and the horizon red. I can feel it. Dawn is near. I’m so excited.

It was really cold, so I pedaled up and down the bay just to keep myself warm. I should have worn more jackets but that doesn’t matter anymore. I am about to witness sunrise with my camera and I’m not letting this opportunity go away. I may never wake up as early again.

The horizon was getting brighter and brighter and there it was, the sun’s first peek. It was breathtaking. Never knew that sunrises are this beautiful. I should do this more often. The wait was well worth it.

After that, I went home immediately to get me some sleep. It’s not only memories that I brought home but also pictures… lots of them. I was glad I woke up at five because that day, I saw the sun like I’ve never seen it before.

Leave a Reply

