Christmas in Japan

Christmas this year is different from all the other Christmases I’ve had since I first heard the word Christmas. For one thing, I’m spending it in Japan. For the most part, it’s because it’s my first Christmas away from my family. I knew it would someday come to this but I never expected it to be this way.

I spent Christmas eve with some Filipino friends from the University. It was just like any other Filipino get-together. We talk. We eat. The usual. No exchange gifts here and no Noche Buena. But I must say that the food was great. Nothing compares to Filipino food especially when cooked to suit the Filipino taste.

On Christmas day, I had to work in the office. It is general knowledge that Japan is not a Christian country making December 25 an ordinary working day. It is kind of sad to think that while the rest of the world is celebrating Christmas, I had to work in the office.

Mother called before lunch and she was surprised to know that I was in the office. It’s a good thing she called so in a sense, I was still with my family for Christmas. Bad thing is she really had to describe the food they are having for Christmas. Grrr. Makes me wanna go home and have a taste but we all know I can’t do that. Sayang.

Call’s over and it’s back to work for me. Later that evening, T and I went to this party hosted by his friends from a school in Sendai, Kagoshima-ken. They were having this party because it’s Christmas and most of them are non-Japanese… mostly Taiwanese.

They were actually interesting and fun to be with but as always, language seems to get in the way. It’s a good thing some of them speak English, including this interesting lady, who is half-Filipino, half-Australian. She can even speak Tagalog and quite fluently at that. After the party, a Japanese friend, T and I went on to sleep-over in her apartment.

Well, actually, we did not sleep. We played this very addictive game up to until 6:00 AM. Maybe that gives you an idea on how addictive the game is. It’s a bad thing I forgot the name. I’d surely look for it in the department store because it’s a really good and interesting ‘barkada’ game. I never got to play it again, though.

At around six, we forced ourselves to sleep even if we still want to play. We have to sleep because we still have to work tomorrow. So we did. We woke up at 9:00 PM, took the car and went back to Kagoshima City. T and I went straight to the office and checked in at around 11:30.

We’re late but I don’t care. It’s the day after Christmas. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to all.

Leave a Reply

