Affinity for the Sun

In Kagoshima, I can say I have developed this affinity for the sun. I have learned to “rediscover” the sun, which a lot of people just take for granted.

In the Philippines, it is common knowledge that Manila Bay offers one of the best sunsets in the world, largely thanks to the polluted atmosphere that in some mysterious way, gives the setting sun a pleasant appearance.

However, I never really bothered to go to Manila Bay to witness the famed sunset. Partly because I lived in Quezon City, which is about two hours from Manila Bay but mostly because Manila Bay doesn’t necessarily have a desirable reputation. It is rumored that Roxas Boulevard is infested with prostitutes, pickpockets and all those ugly elements.

In contrast, Japan is generally a safe place for everybody. Yes, there are prostitutes but they are mostly confined to red-light districts and they don’t really bother you unless you want to be bothered if you know what I mean. There may be pickpockets but none that I know or even heard of.

Kagoshima waterfront is pleasant and is easily accessible from anywhere in the city. From my apartment, I can reach the bay in a matter of minutes, thanks to my trusty bicycle.

Unlike the usual famed sunrises where the sun rises straight from the ocean, Kagoshima sunrise is unique in that it rises from behind a volcano. During certain times of the year, it rises exactly from the mouth of the volcano thus offering a unique and wonderful sunrise for all of Kagoshima to see.

Even before the sun actually rises, I am already in awe because of the beautiful gradients of colors. From the horizon, it’s dark red and as you go up, you’ll see wonderful transitions to orange to light blue to blue to dark blue. It’s simply awe-inspiring.

So whenever I do get the chance to wake up before dawn, I do make it a point to take my bike to the waterfront and witness the sunrise.

I’ve also tried looking for a wonderful place from where I can view the sunset but I’m not quite successful yet.

Maybe someday.

Leave a Reply

