Oh Kagoshima! My Kagoshima!

Kagoshima City is a minor Japanese city and is virtually unknown outside of Japan. It is tiny compared to Tokyo or Osaka and for most Japanese, it is just a small touristy city with near-tropical weather, a very active volcano on the side, and home to some of the more popular natural hotsprings in the country.

If you’re a tourist looking for information about Kagoshima, this is not the article for you. I won’t be talking about touristy stuff here. For that, you’ll need a copy of the Lonely Planet or whatever guide book you prefer. I’ll be writing about the Kagoshima that I know, from my own personal point of view… the stuff I love about this city that makes me think twice before ever considering moving out.

To make it easier for both me and my readers (both of you), I created a list… 10 Things I Love About Kagoshima.

  1. If you draw a straight line from my apartment to my place of work, that line would measure only about two kilometers.
  2. My place of work, even if it is only on the 6th floor, has a very good view of the city, a good view of the volcano, the surrounding hills and the bay. It is only about 100 meters from Kagoshima Bay (Kinko Bay).
  3. Most of my Filipino friends (students) live within two kilometers from my apartment. Some even live within 100 meters. It pays getting an apartment that is just a stone’s throw away from the university.
  4. I seldom need to take public transportation to reach my destination. All the major destinations in the city are at most 30 minutes away by bicycle or 10 minutes away on my trusty scooter.
  5. My relatively new 30-square-meter-apartment costs only about 50,000 yen a month and my parking costs only about 10,000 yen a month. Compared to similarly configured apartments in Japan’s bigger cities, this is very cheap.
  6. Kagoshima Chuo Station, the main station of the city and the second hub of the city (next to Tenmonkan), is also roughly 2 kilometers from my apartment. Tenmonkan is about 3 kilometers away.
  7. On a car, it takes about 30 minutes to get away from the city to enjoy the clean air and the greenery of the countryside.
  8. I got 12Mbps always-on-internet-connection. Not necessarily the fastest available in the market but more than enough to surf the web, check my emails and watch streaming videos.
  9. I can afford to play at least six hours of tennis every week. Two hours on Wednesdays, two hours on Saturdays and two hours on Sundays. That doesn’t include the regular badminton and pingpong sessions with the Filipinos.
  10. Kagoshima has that laid-back atmosphere that is very hard to find in bigger cities.

Sooner or later, I will be moving out of this city. It may happen this year. It may happen ten years from now. When that time comes, I hope I’d be able to enumerate the things I love about that new place as easily as I was able to write this list about Kagoshima.

I hope.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. JG Francisco says:

    hi! I always read your writings.It was good.Very informative.Feeling ko nga close na tayo..for me and i guess for some of the readers it feels like were somewhat attach to you.Everyday kasi parang nakikinig ako sa mga kwento mo.Keep on writing dude.Im from bulacan also your of the same..right? Take care..A reply would be nice. Thanks. JG

    Like

  2. Torbik says:

    You inspired me to write a list for my own city, Metro Manila. Abangan mo sa blog ko in ten years, baka meron na akong top two by that time. Nakakainggit dude, ampunin mo na ko…

    Like

  3. hoop says:

    ric’s, don’t worry when you leave… you’ll always have google maps to help you keep tabs on the place… sure brought back memories when I was looking down on our ryou and kaisha in tokyo ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  4. jg, it’s really nice to know that there are people out there who are able to “attach” to me through my writings. :-)punkquito, i’ll be waiting for that article, eh. please post it as soon as possible. ;-phoop, too bad the satellite photos of kagoshima are not yet as clear as the ones in tokyo (and davao). ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Like

  5. MeemaX says:

    ngayon ko lang napansin na since 1999 ka pang blogger!grabeh! nainspired ako. yebah~~ sana umabot din sa pointna ung blog ko tipong, “nakakabato, ano kayang pwedengbasahin sa blog ni meema” =) galingan mo.(sorry about the non-english comment :P)

    Like

  6. Hahaha. Meema… matagal ka ring nawala sa “blogosphere” ah. Hahaha. Welkam Bak! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  7. stephen says:

    Hey Rics! Where can I see the satellite photos you’re referring to? I want to see Davao’s ^^-> started writing my own blogs -> let’s see kung kaya kong e-maintain hehehe ^^

    Like

  8. Stephen, search for Google Maps or Google Earth then cross your fingers and hope your internet connection is fast enough. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  9. angelblogs says:

    hi ric, thanks for writing about kagoshima. it brought back good memories and somehow appeased my heart that misses kagoshima a lot. i can still remember that first day at kagoshima airport and my last thoughts when i saw the fading outline of mt. sakurajima as i was leaving that beautiful place. one day, maybe i can go back there and savor that beauty once more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

