My Musical Influences

A friend asked my who my musical influences were and I decided the answer to that question deserves a whole blog in itself.

I cannot readily name artists who actually influence me but I do remember the type of music or the albums I was listen to, ever since I was younger.

When I was in Gradeschool, I don’t buy my own tapes, to I mostly listened to the ones we already have at home. I remember listening to a lot of Beatles, Elvis Presley and Broadway. I listened to a lot of Phantom of the Opera, Les Miserables and Miss Saigon. I particularly like Miss Saigon’s “Bui-Doy” by Peter Policarpou. I know this is so unknown but I really loved the power of this song.

I also loved a lot of church songs – a specific version of “Ama Namin”, which we sing in our local church and a specific version of “Take and Receive”, which we sing in school.

When I was in Highschool, I remember listening to a lot of OST — Lion King and Alladin. I also have the Titanic OST, which I love mostly because of the operatic and dramatic instrumental music. I love the music they were playing when the ship was sinking.

In University, I remember listening to a lot of Chicago, Buklod, and the Eraserheards. I think this is also the time I started listening to a lot of Eminem when I’m driving and Enya when I’m studying.

When I moved to Japan, I started to listen to a lot of J-Pop – Def Tech, Southern All Stars, Ayumi Hamasaki, Rip Slyme, Chemistry and Hirai Ken. For a good number of years, I was detached to music outside Japan.

Recently, I’ve been listening to a lot of Linkin Park, Timbaland, Simple Plan, Black Eyed Peas and more recently, American Idol music, and some Chris Brown, Ne-yo type of R&B music.

Looking back, I just realized the variety of music I listen to from Church Music all the way to Eminem.

I love music.

Leave a Reply

