Facebook Is The New Friendster

And I didn’t mean that in a positive way. Not at all.

I used to love Friendster. It allowed me to keep in touch with friends I haven’t seen in years. All was well until people started customizing the colors and backgrounds of their profiles to the point that they became unreadable. People started sending hundreds of app invites to the point that my daily Friendster routine included clicking on the ignore button.

A few months back, I decided I had enough. I deleted all my data from Friendster, and updated my status to “I hardly use Friendster anymore. Catch me in Facebook.”

Facebook was like a refreshing oasis amidst all those bright blinking colored profiles of Friendster. It was clean with all profile pages having a simple white plain background. All was good until recently, Facebook decided to ruin it!

My news feed is now cluttered with quiz results telling where my friends should move, or what jobs they should be in, or how good they are in bed (yes there is a quiz like that). I’m also starting to get endless lists of top 5 movies, or top 5 books, or top 5 whatever. Before that, I started getting tagged and forced to read endless lists of 25 random things.

Don’t get me wrong. I don’t mind if my friends take all these quizzes, and write all these lists, as long as I have the ability to filter them out. With the new Facebook update, I don’t. I’m just hoping my friends would tire from all these quizzes and lists but for sure, some new annoying application will come, and again, flood my news feed with info I don’t need.

Twitter is something I’m playing with because I thought there is no way Twitter can annoy me like how Friendster/Facebook did. It is very simple and there is a limit of 140 characters per message. I just don’t have enough of my friends in Twitter as of yet.

Amidst all these chaos with the social networking sites, I’m glad there is this one social networking site that has annoyed me the least and I’ve been using it for more than 10 years now.

Blogger.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. meemax says:

    I wouldn’t think of Blogger as a social network LOL!Before facebook updated, they had the “Less” and “More” links on each item in the news feed. So facebook can decide which type of items you’d like to see less and which you’d like to see more. We can’t say there wasn’t a way to filter the news, it just takes a bit more effort than just applying a filter.Now facebook has updated, “Like” is what’s left. Maybe you can use that for filtering.

    Like

  2. C’mon! Blogger helps us socialize and network with people… so it’s a social networking site! Hehe. :pI miss the “Less” and “More” links. “Like” is useless in cleaning my news feed. 😦

    Like

  3. oweynge says:

    I’m sure they’ll roll out a filtering feature soon. For the meantime, use < HREF="http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/44459" REL="nofollow">Facebook Purity<>

    Like

  4. That’s very good advice oweynge! 😉

    Like

  5. junnese says:

    Follow what I do…I don't read the news feeds. I basically ignore the “Home” page of my FB and go directly to Profile, Inbox & Friends Invites. I only check my friend's profile (or friends) when I want to know how he/she is doing.It gets overwhelming sometimes. It's crazy how everything you do, FB basically informs everyone about it…with a megaphone!!! Like, I may want to take a quiz out of boredom, but I don't want to let my friends & relatives know that I'm bloody bored and I'm taking a stupid quiz, do I?! =P And vice versa.I can't wait for more FB Filters. My Privacy Filter at the moment is very useful.

    Like

  6. I am actually guilty of also wanting to take some of those quizzes. I also know of a way of preventing my quiz results from showing up in my friends’ wall. Too bothersome though as I have to setup every quiz. めんどくさ!!

    Like

  7. honestly, i never liked facebook, i used to be so plain and never liked that, and now it’s still too plain looking but too crowded with apps! i think i am able to control friendster a lot more.

    Like

  8. Facebook is one of history’s greatest time waster. Period.

    Like

  9. I agree! I’m actually trying to limit my use of Facebook. I’m having withdrawal symptoms. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

