Nitori vs Ikea

Nitori is a Japanese furniture shop while Ikea, as most of you might know, is Swedish.

I buy stuff from both although for a long while, I preferred Nitori because it is more accessible, there are less people, and they offer free delivery. I didn’t really like the first time we went to Ikea because there were so many people, very long lines, and expensive delivery costs. Not to mention I needed to find my own stuff in their warehouse!

Yesterday, I went to the new Ikea store in Shin-Misato and not surprisingly on a weekday, there were not many people. Shopping there can actually be fun. Parking was easy. Comfortable chairs, and free wifi at the cafeteria. Affordable prices. No lines at the cashier. I didn’t buy any furniture so I didn’t need to rummage their warehouse.

I am ready to change my mind as Ikea was proving to be so much better than Nitori. As a token of my appreciation, I bought myself a canvass artwork (not available in Nitori) to hang on my bare living room wall. Mass produced art I know, but I found it peaceful, beautiful, and yes, cheap.

My bare wall is not so bare anymore.

Looking at my living room, you’ll see products from both stores. Sofa from Nitori, baby chairs from Ikea. Rag from Nitori, center table (which I put on the side) from Ikea. Bean bag couch and curtains from Nitori, canvass artwork from Ikea.

Just in case you’re interested, all the other stuff in there are either from Yodobashi or Bic Camera, two popular electronics shops in Tokyo.

The green plant though, is from Daiei.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. yeyenman says:

    hahaha, I suddenly missed your posh apartment πŸ˜›

    Like

  2. yeah… the same apartment where you and meemax got drunk! hahaha!

    Like

  3. lovely apartment! your space looks big!the wall picture is great! and splash of color that the baby stools provide is just right!

    Like

  4. Thanks Charlotte. Coming from you, I’m honored. You seem to know what you’re talking about when it comes to interior design. πŸ˜€

    Like

  5. I was stumped a little. Baby stools? But when I saw the pic fully loaded, I got it. Looks really nice. I want to come visit and let Pristine sit on those lovely stools – she might want to take it home, though. πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. I’m more than willing to give it to Pristine as a gift. πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

