My Goal In Life

What is my goal in life?

When I was in university, I thought it was money, having lots of it. I made it my goal to work in a big company, live in a high-rise condominium, own my own car, and of course, earn lots of money. I was fortunate enough to achieve some of that, although somewhere along the way, I realized it didn’t make me as happy as I thought it would. More money didn’t necessarily made me more happy.

This made me rethink my goals, so instead of money, I made happiness my new goal. I didn’t need money to be happy and sometimes, it’s actually money that is preventing me from being happy. I believe I was fortunate to actually achieve that as well. I found true love, and learned to find joy in the simplest things. I believe I’ve learned to detach happiness from money, and I find that very liberating.

Recently however, I’m beginning to realize that having happiness as a goal is a little selfish. Dedicating my life to achieving happiness for myself is selfish, and maybe, it’s time to move to the next level of enlightenment. I searched the web for less egotistic life goals and these appealed to me the most:

  • to lead a moral life
  • to be mindful and aware of thoughts and actions
  • to develop wisdom and understanding

I’m turning Buddhist.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sun Jun says:

    Hindi naman selfish ang happiness as long as you don't step over anyone just to achieve that happiness. And happiness shared is multiplied.

    Regardless, those are great new goals in Life.
    I'm sure those will still bring Happiness into your life.

    Good luck 😀

    Ever thought of taking up Yoga?

    Like

  2. Interestingly, my brother teaches Yoga. Paturo siguro ko next time I see him. Haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

