My Weird Path to Spirituality

1977

As with majority of Filipinos, I was baptized a Roman Catholic.

1983

I enrolled at St. Paul School of Sta. Maria, a Catholic school ran by the Sisters of St. Paul of Chartres. This is to be the educational institution that molded me from grade school to high school (St. Paul College of Bocaue).

1990

During a seminar hosted by a visiting priest to our school, I asked how there could be many different races, if all of us are descendants of Adam and Eve. The priest answered, “There are many Adam’s and Eve’s, one for each race.”

The seeds of doubt have been planted.

1994

I enrolled at the University of the Philippines, my first non-Catholic educational institution. My first real exposure to non-Catholics, including Baptists, Muslims, agnostics, and atheists.

1996

Impressed with my atheist professor from Jose Rizal class, and seeing many atheists in the university living normal non-religious lives, I started exploring Atheism, entertaining my doubts on Catholicism, and eventually embracing atheism.

2000

I moved to Japan, a country of Buddhists, Shinto, and the non-religious. My experience in Japan further strengthened my atheistic beliefs, as I saw Japan as a perfect example of how a non-religious nation could exist, and actually live better than religious nations.

2005

I wrote a blog called “Meditations of an Atheist“. At this point, I was very convinced about Atheism, to the point that I believed I’ve heard all the counter arguments already, and there is no argument that would convince me otherwise.

2011

Got hooked to a History channel television series called “Ancient Aliens“, as it presented an idea that could potentially explain everything from the Pyramids, to the Mayans, and to even the Bible. I began exploring these ideas with an open unprejudiced mind.

2012

My exploration of these ancient alien concepts led me to read about a lot of topics – UFOs, Multiple dimensions, String theory, Quantum physics, Relativity, Buddhism, Hinduism, New Age, and many more. I can talk about these in more detail, but to put it simply, I started a quest to unify religion, science, and the metaphysical.

I wrote a blog called “Meditations of a Former Atheist“, because at this point in my exploration, I no longer consider myself an atheist. I would refer to myself as “Spiritual” for simplicity sake but in reality, I would prefer not to be boxed in any group.

2013

The more I go deep into this exploration, the more it has led me towards spiritual concepts like meditation, higher planes of existence, reincarnation, karma, nirvana, etc. A lot of these are the core concepts of Buddhism but surprisingly depending on how you look at it, these are also the base concepts (just different names and interpretation) in other religions.

Two things contributed greatly to this: the “Hidden Human History” video by Jordan David, and “The Unknown History of our Solar System and the Spiritual Transformation of the Earth” article by Omnec Onec. There are others as well, but these two stand out for being simple and consistent with each other (for the most part).

The journey continues.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sun Jun says:

    Glad you're back to writing!
    Share mo din sa FB minsan. Just joined google plus and saw this hehe

    I like that your nurturing your spiritual side again. I think tama naman talaga, meron talaga spiritual side to everything ^^

    Great question about adam and eve. never thought of that ha. hehehe dapat yung next tinanong mo so were there different sets of Noah and the Ark as well? hehehe

    Like

  2. Thanks Sun Jun! Weird talaga yung path ko from Atheist to Spiritualist. Hehe. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

