When foreigners associate Filipinos with domestic helpers

When foreigners associate Filipinos with domestic helpers, the immediate reaction of many Filipinos, is to feel insulted. This is something I’ve given some thought, and I am sharing my thoughts on this.

I believe there is no reason to feel insulted, because feeling insulted, is in itself, an insult to the many Filipino domestic helpers. There is nothing wrong with being a domestic helper, just as there is nothing wrong with being an entertainer, a doctor, or an engineer.

These are all just jobs we do. No job is better or worse than the other. Not good. Not bad. Just different.

I asked a friend why he would feel insulted, and he replied it was because he is not a domestic helper. I asked him whether he would feel insulted in foreingers would associate Filipinos with doctors, even if he is not a doctor.

I rest my case.

Leave a Reply

