Alexander Desplat – The Meadows

One of the things I am most grateful to my parents is for sending me to piano school when I was little. My brother and I together went to the same piano school for a couple of years during summer breaks. Kuya, being the more musically inclined of us two, ended up being better at it, but I still appreciate that I can read notes and play a couple of songs if I really put my time and effort on it.

This song is called “The Meadows” by Alexander Desplat, and it was part of the soundtrack for New Moon, one of the several Twilight movies. A few years ago when we were on a road trip and this music was playing, my soon-to-be-in-laws recognized how beautiful the music was, and how beautiful it would be if we could play it.

Acknowledging how beautiful the music is and partly also in my wanting to impress my soon-to-be-in-laws, I searched the web for the piano piece and practiced playing it. During that same week, I was able to practice the first few parts and I was able to play it to them. I had to cut it midway though because I haven’t practiced the rest yet.

After a few more months (I’m a slow learner), I was able to practice the full piece, and can now play with through memory.

Leave a Reply

