Yellow Tokyo

The other day, I took a day off from work to run some errands, getting my OEC from the Philippine embassy, and renewing my Japanese International Driver’s License, both in preparation for my visit to the Philippines. The weather was amazing with clear blue skies, so I decided to bring my trusty camera with me hoping I could take some street pictures after I finish running my errands.

Luckily, it was the peak of autumn so all the Ginkgo trees that line the streets of Tokyo are in their photogenic yellow form. From Kanda where I renewed my Japanese International License, I walked towards the imperial palace, where I saw this guy possibly wearing a traditional police uniform. I assumed he was a police guy because the horse has the police mascot on his forehead.

e01f1-pc090023
Having the bright yellow ginkgo trees for his background is a pleasant bonus.

I then walked towards Hibiya park where luckily there were momiji trees (Japanese maple) in their autumn best. The leaves make for a good foreground to the bright yellow ginkgo trees. Red over yellow.

AutumLeaves
I also like how the leaves are lit up by the autumn sun.

Camera: Olympus OM-D E-M5 Mark II
Lens: Olympus 14-150mm f/4-5.6 II

Fifteen years living in Japan and I still never tire of the four seasons and the distinct character that each season brings.

Leave a Reply

