Earning Zero Mileage Points

Last month, my wife and I took a short trip to Europe flying Qatar Airways. Being a long flight halfway around the world, I was a little curious as to how many mileage points I would get. I later checked my JAL Mileage Bank report (JAL and Qatar Airways are both members of OneWorld), and was a bit surprised to see this:

JAL Miles Summary from Moneytree
JAL Miles Summary (Screenshot from Moneytree)

I flew halfway around the world, and earned zero miles!

Something must be wrong here, I thought. I immediately called JAL Mileage Bank Center and asked if the numbers were correct. The lady at the other side politely explained, that I did not get points, because my ticket was of Class=Q.

Not knowing what Class=Q was, I did what every self-respecting citizen of the internet would have done, I googled it. It led me to a page explaining the different classes in flying, and as it turns out, Class=Q means “Discounted Economy”, and in this particular case, these tickets don’t earn me any mileage points.

I then checked my boarding pass, which I luckily kept with me. It clearly shows Class=Y (Economy), which should have earned me some mileage points. I calmly asked the lady where she is seeing Class=Q, when I clearly see Class=Y printed on my boarding passes.

Tokyo Doha Vienna, Munich Doha Tokyo
Boarding Passes showing Class=Y

Apparently, the boarding pass might not always show the correct class type. It may show Class=Y (Economy) when actually it was Class=Q (Discounted Economy). Ok, that doesn’t make sense but I guess that’s just the way it is, and it’s fine.

I thanked the lady for her polite support, and closed the call.

Come to think of it, if I am getting heavily discounted tickets, which I think I did for this trip because it was almost immediately after the Japanese Golden Week, I don’t really mind not getting any mileage points. I would have appreciated it if the boarding passes actually printed the correct Class-type to avoid confusion, but it’s fine.

I can live with that.

We had a wonderful trip, and the service at Qatar Airways was well above average. Hamad International Airport in Doha is amazing too, especially the quiet rooms where we were able to relax while waiting for our connecting flights. All airports should have those. I should also mention the lady who received my call was polite and helpful.

Hamad International Airport in Doha, Qatar
Hamad International Airport in Doha, Qatar

All in all, we had a good trip, and that is what matters. No zero mileage experience can change that.

Happy traveling, all!

Leave a Reply

